SharePoint 2010 installed and functional!


So yesterday, on the excitement that the beta was finally available to non-MVP’s, I dove right in.  Luckily the twittersphere was flooded with some great microbloggers tweets with timely info to make it nearly seamless.  Here are the two that helped me the most:
 
http://ff.im/-byGiN from @Jiel (Jie Li) and http://bit.ly/2jzDs3 from @furuknap (Bjørn Furuknap)
 
Jie’s post ran though most of the pitfalls.  For example, I was going to build my machine on Windows Server 2008 R2 which I already had the ISO for, but found out that one of the hotfixes for WCF was not available yet and didn’t know how critical it was to get SP2010 working, so I downloaded the bits for Server 2008 instead.
 
Bjørn’s post saved me from trying to install SP2010 without AD.  After reading his post, the first thing I did when I built my VPC was to install Active Directory Domain Services (AD DS) and run dcpromo to make it into a domain controller.   That way the VM is completely independent of any external machines.
 
So here is what I did:
 
  1. Started with my host machine (Gateway FX 6801) which has i7 920 quad core hyperthreaded (8 virtual cores) and 9 GB of RAM running Windows Server 2008 R2 64 bit and Hyper-V.
  2. Created a VM with 7 GB RAM, 4 processors (half of my cores), and a 2 TB virtual hard drive. The physical size grows as needed so it starts out small.  2TB is the limit.  The physical drive it runs on is an internal 1.5 TB drive that houses my other VM’s too.  The footprint of the completed VM image including snapshots is 41 GB.
  3. Installed Windows Server 2008 Standard (non-R2) 64 bit.  You must have 64 bit.  SharePoint 2010 will not run on 32 bit.  It will run on Windows 7 though…
  4. After the OS was installed, I patched it with Windows Update and added the Role of AD DS.  I’m using dynamic IP (DHCP) and got a few warnings.  I’m hoping that doesn’t burn me in the future since AD likes to be on a static IP.  Ran dcpromo.exe and created a single domain forest.  I added a service account for SharePoint services to AD.
  5. Ran Windows Update again.  Added roles for Web Server (giving it more options than I probably needed, such as IIS 6 compatibility), and then later for Application Server (once again more options than I needed such as all of the Windows Process Activation like Message Queuing, TCP, and Named Pipes).  I wasn’t sure if I needed the minimum since Jei’s blog nor the other docs were not clear on this.  I would have preferred to install the minimal functionality for these roles, but I was anxious to get busy with SP2010.
  6. Then I continued through the hardware/software requirements doc http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc262485(office.14).aspx referenced from Jei’s post:
    • The 64-bit edition of Windows Server 2008 Standard with SP2
    • Web Server (IIS) role
    • Application Server role
    • Microsoft .NET Framework version 3.5 SP1
    • SQL Server 2008 Express with SP1 (skipped this and installed SQL Server 2008 Dev instead, adding my service account as admin – not best practices but OK for a dev box on a beta VM)
    • Microsoft "Geneva" Framework
    • Microsoft Sync Framework Runtime v1.0 (x64)
    • Microsoft Filter Pack 2.0
    • Microsoft Chart Controls for the Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5
    • Windows PowerShell 2.0 CTP3
    • SQL Server 2008 Native Client
    • Microsoft SQL Server 2008 Analysis Services ADOMD.NET
    • ADO.NET Data Services v1.5 CTP
  7. Once I finished up with the hardware/software requirements (step 1 in Jei’s post), I ran windows update again rebooted
  8. Continued through steps 2 though 5, including WCF fix and SQL Server 2008 SP1 and CU2 (needed a password from MSFT via email for two cumulative updates 200 and 300 MB in size).
  9. Now I was ready for SharePoint installation!
  10. Ran the installer downloaded from MSDN which includes Jei’s step 6 "Pre-requisites Installer" but I don’t think this step does much since most of them are above, but it does take a while.
  11. And then, drum roll please…. clicked "Install SharePoint Server"! I’m borrowing the following image from Furuknap: 
  12. Ok, so far so good.  No bombs, no bugs.  I shut down, saved a snapshot and booted back up for the configuration step.
  13. Now I ran the configuration wizard, which was very straight forward.  One of the last steps in the config wizard was to pick a template for my root site, so I used the Publishing Portal under Enterprise Templates.  This step seemed much easier than the MOSS 2007 equivilant.
  14. Voila, I had SharePoint 2010 running.  The only thing I forgot to do was give my hostname a friendly name.  Now my root site was a ton of random characters.  Oh well, I can still use http://localhost. I should have renamed my host before I installed AD DS and given it a friendly name like SP2010.  No biggie.
  15. So now I’m ready for the other goodies I downloaded from MSDN.  So here they are:
    • Visual Studio 2010 Ulimate Beta 2 (after this saved another hyperv snapshot)
    • Office 2010 Beta
    • Project 2010 Beta
    • SharePoint Designer 2010 Beta
    • Visio 2010 Beta
    • Office Web Applications Beta
  16. The only thing I didn’t install was FAST Search Server 2010 Beta and Project Server 2010 Beta, so I’ll save those for another day.
  17. Made sure all the programs ran and did one more snapshot.
  18. Next I did what turned out to be a very cool test with VS2010 Beta 2.  Right out of the box I was able to create a new Visual Web Part C# project for SharePoint 2010.  Added a button, a label and an event handler to update the label to "clicked" when pressed.  Built it, deployed it right from Visual Studio.  Wow!!! What a brease!  It even asked me to create a web part page and let me choose the doc lib to put it in.  Once I did that, cliced the edit, added the web part, saved the page and tested my web part.  No where did I even have to even think of a DDF, WSP, feature, or solution.

I didn’t expect the web part project to be that easy.  After struggling with all of the tools out there for the past 5 years using WSPBuilder (my favorite), VSeWSS, STSDEV, and hand coding the build events to build the CAB from a DDF, this was a nice change.

I think Steve Balmer was right when he spoke after the SharePoint Conference 2009 keynote in the following interview http://bit.ly/aH4aq and said "SharePoint is the new RAD tool for developers, it’s the new VB".  When I watched that interview I had gone through so much pain with developing on older versions of SharePoint, I almost laughed out loud thinking SharePoint development is anything but RAD.  But after yesterday, I do believe that Steve could be right.  This is could be the beginning of a new era of RAD development.  Can’t wait to play with all the other Visual Studio 2010 templates.  Hope they are as seemless and easy as the Visual Web Part.

Let me know about your experiences with SP2010. Send me a tweet @Talbott

Leave a Reply

